Treasury Announces Members for New Financial Research Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of the Treasury today announced the thirty distinguished professionals in economics, finance, financial services, data management, risk management, and information technology, who will serve on the Financial Research Advisory Committee of the Office of Financial Research (OFR).

The Committee will hold its inaugural meeting on December 5 in Washington, D.C. Members include two Nobel laureates in economics; leaders in business and nonprofit fields; and prominent researchers at major universities and think tanks.

The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act established the OFR within the U.S. Department of the Treasury. The OFR serves the Financial Stability Oversight Council, its member agencies, and the public by improving the quality, transparency, and accessibility of financial data and information; conducting and sponsoring research related to financial stability; and promoting best practices in risk management.

“We are pleased that such a distinguished group will serve on the Advisory Committee of the OFR,” said Deputy Secretary of the Treasury Neal Wolin. “We look forward to their valuable contributions to the OFR’s mission of improving the quality of financial data and facilitating more robust and sophisticated analysis of risks to the financial system.”

The Committee will provide advice to the OFR, bringing diverse perspectives to inform the OFR’s research-and-data agendas and to help the OFR fulfill its mission. The Committee will work with the OFR to develop and employ best practices for data management, data standards, and research methodologies.

The Committee will form subcommittees to focus on research, data, technology, risk management, and other issues.

Committee members were selected from a diverse group of more than 150 applicants. The Office solicited applications from the general public through a March 2012 Federal Register notice.

The Committee is made up of the following 30 members:

Lewis Alexander, Nomura
David Allen, Raymond James Financial
Caryl Athanasiu, Wells Fargo
Michael Atkin, EDM (Enterprise Data Management) Council
Peter Cherasia, J.P. Morgan
Suzanne Christensen, Invesco
Robert Engle, New York University
Anna Ewing, NASDAQ
Jean-Pierre Fouque, University of California, Santa Barbara
Steve Galbraith, recently with Maverick Capital
Ben Golub, BlackRock
Charles Goodhart, London School of Economics
Stacey Goodman, CIT Group, Inc.
Trevor Harris, Columbia University
Maurine Haver, Haver Analytics
Ron Jordan, Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation
Anil Kashyap, University of Chicago
Donald Kohn¸ Brookings Institution, formerly of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Andrew Kuritzkes, State Street Corporation
Clinton D. Lively, Royal Bank of Canada
Andrew Lo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Robert Merton, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Harvard University
Jim Northey, The LaSalle Technology Group
Maureen O’Hara, Cornell University
Peter Serenita, HSBC (Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation)
Prakash Shimpi, recently with ING U.S.
Damon Silvers, American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)
Ken Traub, GS1
Nancy Wallace, University of California, Berkeley
Tom Wipf, Morgan Stanley

More information about the Committee, including brief biographies of members, may be found on the OFR website. Details about the first meeting, which will be webcast publicly, will be released in the coming weeks.